Initial Idea/Developing Idea

For my FMP I have decided to do photography, the reason I have decided to do because this is what I am interested in. Specifically, I am will be doing urban and architecture photography, the reason I have decided to do this, is because I leave near a couple of cities that include buildings and urban locations.

My first Idea was to do 10 photos of urban photography, 10 photos of modern photography and 10 photos of old architecture. These shots would be taken in three different locations, Liverpool, Manchester, and Preston. I have changed my idea slightly, I will be splitting my photos up into 2 parts. 15 photos will be on urban photography and 15 will b architecture, both old and new. The reason I decided to change is, that I didn’t want to have more architecture photos than urban, I wanted to keep it the same.

I have also decided to change the locations that I am going to, instead of going to Liverpool, Manchester, and Preston, I will only be going to Liverpool and Manchester. The reason I have decided to get rid of Preston is, from scouting Preston on Google Maps and Google Earth, I realised that there wasn’t a lot of unique building and buildings that didn’t stand out to me. When looking for urban locations, I couldn’t find any.

Looking at my street/urban photography I will be doing, in my pitch, I said that I was going to be focusing on the everyday life of people in the cities. I have decided to change this to focus on the urban locations in the cities, my main focus will no longer be the people, some people might pop up in the background but they are not the main focus.

Urban photography is more of a sub-category of photography, this because urban photography is similar to street photography. Street photography is taking images of a random encounter, more focused on people. Urban photography focuses on urban locations rather than the people, more of the surroundings.


 

In my pitch, I said that I will be uploading my photos to only a website, from doing the research I have decided that I will also be uploading my photos to Instagram, Flickr and also competitions. The reason for me adding multiple platforms is because the more platforms I have my work on, the more people will see it, growing my following.

When it came to my pitch, I said that my target audience is people who are photography, interested in architecture and urban and also people who are looking to buy. After doing some research I have got more of a specific audience, the target audience I have chosen is 18-40. These people will be people who are pro-photographers but also people who are amateur photography.

Leave a comment